Office Online

Well just had a crack at sharing a file using Microsoft Office Online. I uploaded a  .docx file, and invited someone to share it. I’m not sure if they will be able to open or view it, as they may not have the correct software. They may not even have the knowledge or skill to open or view it. If they cannot, I’ll have to resort to email, which is probably what I should have done in the first place.

I am not sure about this ‘cloud’ thing at all. I certainly will not be uploading anything of real value for the time being. I’m still coming to terms with Office 2007 and the ‘ribbon’. If Office Online works, and the hackers don’t get hold of it, then it could become a useful tool for home and work. I don’t suppose our work IT department will be promoting it. We tend to lag behind with this kind of ‘net’ technology. Mind you, I suppose it could be a real security threat. If someone uploaded a sensitive document, and then shared it with the wrong group of people !!!

Leave a Reply

