Free anti-virus

Who uses free or freeware antivirus software, and which do you use.

For many years I have used AVG in it’s many free versions. I have never used a paid service, and have never felt the need to do so. Yesterday, I foolishly clicked a link on Facebook. I was trying to hide the post (or so I say) but hit the link instead. Almost immediately, AVG warned me of the threat, and dealt with it. As a precaution, I decided to do a full scan. Lo and behold, a trojan and a number of variations were found. These, unusually found in the uninstall files. As expected AVG dealt with the problem. A quick Google told me a little about the trojan, but also alerted me to the fact that AVG was reporting the infections, but that they were false positives.  I then had problems removing the so called ‘infections’, but AVG would not let me access them. The only way round was to disable AVG, restore the ‘infected’ files, unistall the software and download the latest versions. This done, I restarted AVG, only to be told that the files we still infected. Arghhhhhhhh.

I then decided that AVG was the problem, and it had to go.

I am now using Microsoft Security Essentials (MSE), and was just interested what others use.
(btw  MSE did not find any of the trojans that AVG found – is this a worry?)

One thought on “Free anti-virus

Leave a Reply

